Unsure What Suddenly Brought on My Tinnitus — A Bit of Luck with CBD, Melatonin and N-Acetylcysteine

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by James O, Jan 11, 2021.

1. James O

James O Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hello all,

I am new to Tinnitus Talk having just discovered it. I have been suffering from tinnitus for the past 6 months or so. It came on suddenly and no cause has yet been identified. I have tried various treatments with varying degrees of success in moderating the ringing, but no real success story of yet in stopping it significantly.

I have had a bit of luck with CBD (THC free, as anything not THC free actually seemed to make it worse), Melatonin, and N-Acetylcysteine. It actually feels like if I don't get a good night's sleep, my ringing is so much worse or at least more noticeable. So maybe that is why the CBD and Melatonin have helped in the past. I seem to get good sleep when using either CBD or Melatonin. I am tempted to use both and see how that works.

I also have an appointment with a ENT from an academic medical center near me this week. I will share my findings and their recommendations with the forum.

Hello to all again.

J

2. Michael Leigh

Michael Leigh Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      04/1996
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise induced
      Hi @James O.

Tinnitus can appear for no reason but usually something causes it and many things can. The most common is exposure to loud noise. Before the tinnitus onset, did you frequently listen to music through headphones, earbuds, or regularly used a headset? Listened to loud music at home, in the car or go to places where loud music was played? If yes to any of my questions then you probably have noise induced tinnitus. Other forms of loud noise exposure can cause it too.