Working as a Receptionist? The Right Move with Tinnitus and Hyperacusis?

Discussion in 'Support' started by starrynights, Sep 24, 2020.

1. starrynights
      Creative

starrynights Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Unsure but more than 2+ years.
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Listening to music too loud; concerts with no protection.
      I was recommended for a job at a very established hospital in my city as a receptionist. I am a recent graduate and with current events it has been harder than ever to find a job so I have followed through with the initial interview but don’t know if this is the right call. My concern is that I have recently had a tinnitus spike and am just starting to get better. I am unsure if taking the position would be the best course of action; the commute to work would consist of taking a train and a bus, for those of you who know what the NYC transit is like know that the sound of an incoming train can easily go above 80 dB. The job is also located in a very busy street near midtown Manhattan and the job requires interacting with patients (checking them in, dealing with insurance, etc.) and possibly speaking on the phone from time to time. During my first interview I was informed that the clinic sees anywhere between 15-98 patients a day and it would be a Mon-Fri (9am-5pm) position.

The job itself has many perks and this would potentially be my first salaried job with good health insurance. I feel terrible because if I had not had tinnitus this would be a job I would be excited about but I just feel worried and weighing the risk.

I really need advice or some insight on what I should do and if whether or not I should continue to pursue the job?