Would Love Some Reassurance...

Discussion in 'Support' started by pixiebelle, Jul 22, 2018.

1. pixiebelle

pixiebelle Member

Tinnitus Since:
      4/ 2013
      Hi there, I am a tinnitus veteran of a few years now and I had learnt how to manage it. However I have just had some surgery whilst I'm recovery I listened to audiobooks for first time ever through headphones (in ear).

It seems to have driven my tinnitus to crazy levels and I'm really struggling. In reading the forums the outlook seems bleak, can anyone reassure me that the levels may eventually go back to something manageable even after several hours of headphone use? I'm really beating myself up for this mistake as I'm usually so careful. Some hopeful news would be welcome, best wishes pixie

• Hug Hug x 2
    2. dayma
      Pacman

dayma Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      1/6/2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      UNKNOWN
      @pixiebelle welcome! You may just be going through a temporary spike that will settle down with time back to your baseline.

Honestly these forums can be a double edge sword for people. Keep in mind that people that tend to have their T resolve do not necessarily hang out on forums talking about things that used to have a negative life impact.

• Like Like x 2
      • Agree Agree x 1
    3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      pixiebelle

pixiebelle Member

Tinnitus Since:
      4/ 2013
      Thanks for getting back to me, my concern was that the news about headphones on the forums seemed pretty bad. I would love to hear about anyone who had a similar spike from headphones that then returned to normal. Thanks again for welcoming me as it really helps to talk to others going through the same thing...

4. Michael Leigh

Michael Leigh Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      04/1996
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise induced
      HI @pixiebelle