17 Days Ago, Everything Changed: Acoustic Trauma from Riding in the Bed of the Truck (Airflow)

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by DrewM, Jul 27, 2020.

1. DrewM

DrewM Member

Tinnitus Since:
      July 10, 2020
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic trauma
      Hi, I'm Drew. I'm a 25 year old musician and writer. I don't know what else to do - I just need to tell my story to someone who will listen and maybe understand.

On July 10, 2020 I was visiting my grandparents in Colorado. They live in the mountains, and we decided to go into town for some food and gas. I was riding in the bed of the truck with my younger brother. When we get into town, my grandpa puts these old, faded, clearly leaking gas containers in the back with us. I was kind of annoyed and I was disgusted by the smell but I just leaned my head out over the side of the truck to get some fresh air. In doing this, I placed my ears (particularly my left) directly in the path of the airflow around the truck. I didn't feel pain at the time necessarily, just a vague sensation that something was wrong. Unfortunately, I ignored this for the duration of the ride, which was over an hour over of >60mph highway.

When we got home I could hear a powerful ringing in my ears. I had been to many concerts without ear protection before, and it always seemed to go away in 1 or 2 days, so I wasn't too worried.

Three days later and it was not only still going strong, but I felt a fullness in my ears and a shift in my sense of balance. I started to panic. I made an appointment with my doctor who said it'll most likely go away in a week and, if not, to make an appointment with the ENT.

The week came and went. The ringing didn't stop. It went from a deep whooshing noise at the beginning to a high pitched sine tone in my left ear. Soon after I started to notice my right ear reacting to noises, especially louder and higher pitched. It had improved since the start, but progress was slow.