A Change of Lifestyle?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Michael Leigh, Mar 12, 2017.

1. Michael Leigh

Michael Leigh Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      04/1996
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise induced
      A change of lifestyle?

I am writing this post, in the hope that it will make some people look at their lifestyle and consider changing it, when it comes to tinnitus that was caused by exposure to loud noise.

At another tinnitus forum that I visit, someone who is a musician and has played the drums for a number of years, has tinnitus that has recently got worse. In addition to this hypercusis is now present even though he wears noise-reducing earplugs. This person asked if there was any way of reducing his tinnitus back to baseline as he enjoys playing the drums and it is his living. He mentioned that he had cut back on the number of gigs but there hasn't been any noticeable improvement.

Although I am not a musician I am an Audiophile and get a lot of pleasure listening to my music through my audio system, so understand this man’s desire to want to continue playing music and also to earn a living from it. However, with noise induced tinnitus one has to be careful. If the condition is getting worse exposure to loud noise is the usual cause providing there is no underlying medical condition that’s responsible. Therefore, the only way to address this and to hopefully reduce the symptoms is to stop being around loud sounds. Even though noise- reducing earplugs help the best earplugs in the world are not one hundred percent safe, so one still needs to be careful.

Behind each ear there is a hard piece of bone called the mastoid bone. It is honeycombed with air pockets. If external sound is loud enough, it can pass through the mastoid bone and enter the inner ear and irritate the cochlea, which could make the tinnitus and hyperacusis (if present) louder and more intrusive.