After Many Years of Wearing Headphones for Work, I Developed Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Kieran66, Aug 25, 2022.

1. Kieran66

Kieran66 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      08/2022
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Headphone usage (probably)
      Hello

I'm Kieran. I'm 56. I work as a video editor which means I wear over-ear headphones all day in order to clearly hear the audio as I am editing. As I live in a small terraced house with poor soundproofing, I wear headphones when I want to listen to music. I also wear headphones when I want to watch TV after my wife has gone to bed. In short I spend a lot of my waking hours wearing headphones. I don't like to listen to things at a high volume but then the volume may be higher than I realise. If I am walking somewhere I sometimes put on earbuds and I probably have these louder than I realise in order to counter traffic noise. I also wear foam earplugs at night to cut out noise from the street outside. I am not on any medication and I don't want to go to the doctor as I find them generally useless.

Just recently I have become aware of a continuous high tone in my head- very high pitched, almost ultrasonic, slightly fluctuating over time and 'metallic' feeling (if that makes any sense). It seems quite loud to me and of course I find it very annoying and worrying.

My mother developed tinnitus after an operation and we thought it might have been the anaesthetic which caused it. She has never worn headphones. There is a lot of deafness in her family but her hearing is otherwise fine. Maybe her operation and my headphone usage are red herrings and its just a genetic hereditary thing. I don't know. but I'm not going to be wearing headphones or earplugs any more as a precaution.
      • I've only had it a few days and I'm just hoping it will go away - but is that realistic?
      • Is there any chance that it will disappear?