Already Struggled with Depression and Anxiety — And Now Tinnitus for Several Weeks

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Gen61, Nov 26, 2020.

1. Gen61

Gen61 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/6/20
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hello. I'm Gen and I've been struggling with tinnitus for several weeks now. Saw an ENT and it seems that I am just going to have to learn to deal with this. Has anyone tried anything that has helped? I already struggle with anxiety and depression and this has made it much worse. Any suggestions would be so much appreciated!

• Hug Hug x 7
      • Like Like x 1
    2. TrevorSanders

TrevorSanders Member

Tinnitus Since:
      09/2020
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise Exposure/Ototoxic Medication
      Hey! I’m pretty new to tinnitus as well (~3 months), but here are some tips.

1. Use masking sounds to get throughout the day. Maybe invest in an in-ear masker or hearing aid.

2. Stay active to get your mind off of it.

3. Exercise. A healthy body is a healthy mind.

4. This is controversial, but maybe ask your PCP for a benzo to help you on the bad days.

5. Lastly, stay hopeful. We live in a blessed time for tinnitus sufferers. It is almost guaranteed we will see a treatment in our lifetime.

• Like Like x 2
    3. Michael Leigh

Michael Leigh Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      04/1996
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise induced
      HI @Gen61,

Do you have any idea what might have caused the tinnitus? Do you regularly use headphones, earbuds or wear a headset? Have you been working in a noisy environment or listening to loud music through speakers or in the car? Have you experienced tinnitus before even for a short while?

If yes to any of the above please let me know and will try and help you further.

Michael

• Like Like x 1
    4. Bill Bauer
      No Mood

Bill Bauer Member Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      February, 2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic Trauma