Another Musician with Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by addot, Jan 17, 2017.

1. addot

addot Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Jan 2013
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise exposure
      Hello guys, this is my first post here. I am a 23 yr old musician. In 2013 i went to a free concert with some friends, we stood right in front of the stage for quite a while. Got mild T from that day on, but as the year went on my ears got better and better. In 2014, i would rate my T at about 2: only really noticeable on absolute silence and barely an issue. So i stopped being careful. In 2014 i played a gig and forgot to use hearing protection. This not only worsened my T but gave me "distorted" hearing on certain frequencies. I was devastated for a long time, but went back to using hearing protection regularly and eventually learned to cope with it somewhat.

I am in the process of recording an album, and last friday my T spiked again. I was recording guitars, had sound isolating headphones on, but after the session i felt a slight dullness in my right ear. I hope this is only temporary, but i am really scared...

This episode made me think a lot about my future as a musician and my relationship with music. Prior to my T I remember how much I enjoyed listening to music. There was no discomfort, no worrying about anything. After the T, it's a struggle. I can't say it ruined it 100%, I try my best to keep a positive attitude but sometimes the feeling of "I wish i didn't have to deal with this" is too much.