Any Musicians Still Active Playing Music?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Kerry H, Mar 17, 2014.

?

Have you continued playing music after the onset of tinnitus?

1. Yes

80.0%
  2. No

20.0%
    1. Kerry H
      Balanced

Kerry H Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2013
      I'm a part time guitar teacher and hoping to make it a full time gig somewhere down the line. I can't help but think whether or not T will throw a wrench in the gears. I'm just worried that it may get worse and I won't be able to continue.

I wanted to know how many musicians are out there and are still continuing to play. Have you done anything to help cope? What are some of the challenges you've experienced? Any positives of playing music with T?

I used to play in a hardcore punk band for 6 years and didn't wear ear plugs. My T didn't develop because of any sudden loud noise exposure, but I'm sure being exposed to the loud sounds for so long has not helped. I'm hoping though that I can continue my passion for music regardless of the T now.

2. JTP
      No Mood

JTP Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      5/2013
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Shit happens
      Hi, I am still playing with bands. I use earplugs and won't go into same room with King Kong playing drums:)

• Like Like x 1
    3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      Kerry H
      Balanced

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2013
      @JTP - Haha yeah! It's funny you say that, because the drummer of my old band was a beast and I never wore ear plugs. I'm glad there are some people with T continuing music. I know I've read that some have given it up, and it's such a part of my identity, that I don't want to have to loose that.

4. cullenbohannon
      Thinking

cullenbohannon Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      01/2014
      There are tons of musicians with t. Get a good pair of musicians ear plugs and see how it feels.

• Like Like x 1
    5. Steve
      Creative

Steve Member Benefactor Hall of Fame Advocate

Tinnitus Since: