Can't Do This Alone... Anyone Find Counseling Helpful?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Jason37, Jan 10, 2018.

1. Jason37

Jason37 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      06/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Gunshot
      I've set an appointment with a faith based counselor and I know they will want to prescribe some drug to ease out of the fear and anxiety. Would like to know the low risk options that probably won't make tinnitus worse.

2. Nanny chocolate

Nanny chocolate Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unbelievable caused by audiologist!
      Hi Jason
      In the UK, an actual Counsellor would not be able to prescribe drugs. If they were part of a Mental Health Team, someone would be in place to prescribe if necessary.
      I work as a Counsellor in the UK and a lot of people find relief by being able to talk about what they find hard to bear on their own.
      Give it a go, you’ll soon know if it’s the right thing for you. Eve

• Like Like x 2
    3. Berik

Berik Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      11/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hearing aid with masking function, is really what I would recommend based on my experience. Such a relief; wish I had it earlier.

• Like Like x 1
    4. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      Jason37

Jason37 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      06/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Gunshot
      they wont give me one with mild hearing loss

5. glynis
      Feminine

glynis Member Benefactor Ambassador Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Meniere's Disease
      Hi @Jason37,
      Over many years I have spoke and supported many people with tinnitus and over the phone ,forum or support group Dot and I run.
      Face to face support can really help you and unleash unwanted emotions and off load thoughts you find hard to tell the family.
      Its got to be a positive move forward for you and also talk to your doctor if need extra medication support.
      Love glynis