CBT Pre-Meeting... WTF

Discussion in 'Support' started by Scott T, Jul 13, 2016.

1. Scott T
      Alone

Scott T Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Ear wax removal?
      So, I had my first pre meeting with a director of training for a CBT institute. And after sitting for an hour with this person I felt worse about myself, my life and my T. As soon as I walked in she asked why I was there and I explained that I went to have my ears cleaned and the micro-suction made my T worse and now I am trying anything to survive the next day of my life. Her response was I had pulsating T which is worse. Off the bat I am like go F***yourself. You dont know how it is with me. The meeting proceeded on and we talked and she blatantly told me that acoustic trauma does not cause T. I have an imbalance in my life and brain and that good thoughts cure all and bad thoughts make things worse. And on top of everything she said that my weight and diet was a contributing factor to this and by exercising and going on a no sugar diet I will get better. I thought this program was for support and to help you cope with your T or any other stressors you might have not a F'ing life coach. And here is one of my favorite lines. I told her that I was doing well before all of this happened and she said that I was not.

I also saw my ENT the day before and he said that with acoustic trauma it can take a little while to return to baseline but he has hope.

So that past hope has gone out the window and I have been lectured about my weight and my "balance" as the cause of this.

2. Lorac

Lorac Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Sudden profound hearing loss in left ear.
      Hi Scott,
      WTF is right!