Clubbing and DJ'ing with Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Support' started by wewejajawuwu, Jan 27, 2016.

1. wewejajawuwu

wewejajawuwu Member

Tinnitus Since:
      01/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise-induced (possibly exacerbated by stress and ototoxicity)
      I'm new to this tinnitus malarkey, so hello to everyone on Tinnitus Talk, and thank you for being such a great source of information and comfort!

My (probably noise-induced) tinnitus is fairly mild, so I consider myself lucky and offer my sincere sympathies to those with more severe T. However, a big part of my life is clubbing and DJ'ing, so I'm a bit concerned about what to do moving forwards, and would really appreciate some advice!

I am very keen to continue clubbing and DJ'ing, as I have a genuine passion for house and techno music (think fabric, berghain/panoramabar etc.), and my entire friendship group is built around this scene. Therefore, I've just bought custom-moulded ear plugs (ACS Pro26), which offer 26 dB reduction up to 4 kHz and ~32 dB reduction at higher frequencies. Also, I plan to take a good 6--8 month break from clubbing to give my ears every chance to recover and settle. After this, I will slowly re-introduce my (protected) ears to the thump of the club (e.g. just going out for a couple of hours in the beginning), so that I can monitor if any further damage is being done.

In light of the information above, does anyone have any tips/advice/experiences that could help me out? In particular, it would be great to hear from anyone who is into electronic music and clubbing!

When I do return to the clubs, I'll keep you all updated on how things go, so hopefully you can learn from my experiences! I know that hearing problems are prevalent in the house and techno scene, so it's important that we help each other out and learn from each other!

Thanks for your time!

2. Karl28
      No Mood

Karl28 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      2001 bad since 2015
      Cause of Tinnitus: