Do I Have Tinnitus?

Discussion in 'Support' started by 6tarme, Oct 8, 2017.

1. 6tarme

6tarme Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Audio
      Hi... I am a 23 year old musician who has been mixing his music at loud volumes for a long time now.

A few weeks ago my left ear started aching and I have a swollen red bump that almost looks like a pimple in it.

It subsided a bit so I went back to mixing at what I presume was too loud in my headphones and I've developed a hiss in my left ear that has been constant for 3 days now.

I also feel semi painful aches in that ear when I swallow too hard or burp. I already suffer from daily chronic migraines and if what I'm reading is true and tinnitus is for life , I don't know what I'm to do. My dreams are to be a artist , and performing with loud music blaring is part of that lifestyle...

Is there any chance this hissing will go away? I plan to see a doctor on Monday.

Thanks... I'm quite discouraged right now having suffered from 24/7 intense chronic migraines for four years and now this...

2. GregCA
      Jaded

GregCA Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Otosclerosis
      Yes there is, but you need to stay away from loud noise to increase your chances.

• Like Like x 1
    3. Michael Leigh

Michael Leigh Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      04/1996
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise induced
      You need to be careful of being around loud sounds. If you don't change your ways then your music career could end before its started and I'm not kidding. Click on the links below and read my articles on tinnitus. If you use headphones I advise you to stop using them for a while and if possible never use them again.

Michael

https://www.tinnitustalk.com/threads/tinnitus-a-personal-view.18668/

https://www.tinnitustalk.com/threads/hyperacusis-as-i-see-it.19174/

• Agree Agree x 1
    4. fishbone
      Shitfaced