Do You Ever Habituate to Complete Silence (Silent Room)?

Discussion in 'Support' started by bodhisattva, Oct 23, 2014.

1. bodhisattva

bodhisattva Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2014
      I feel like as long as i can keep a fan running, some white noise, city noise etc i can handle this stuff. But when i am in complete silence it's nearly unbearable.

I'm fairly new to this game, so my question for you vets is, do you ever get to the point that you can be (or possibly even sleep) in a completely silent room?

I sure miss being able to meditate.

• Like Like x 1
      • Good Question Good Question x 1
    2. awbw8
      Balanced

awbw8 Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      04/2013
      Hey there @bodhisattva, if you can handle T in any setting within he same month you got it, then I have absolutely no doubt you will be able to handle it in silence eventually.

It was months for me before I could handle it in any condition (maybe 8 to a year) and then at the 1 year 5 months mark, I just stopped needed any kind of sound-soother for sleep. I live in the city so I do have some traffic noises, but I am fine in a silent room now - sleeping or waking, even though the T is ringing/buzzing/hissing away. I can definitely meditate as well/happily etc. as I did before. In fact, I would say that T made my meditation practice stronger. The point of it, for me, is to put aside physical discomforts and distractions to reach that inner place. If you can get there through T, that is just a step in the right direction. Habituating to T was a meditation for me, one that I do daily :)

The T is just a part of my silence now and 99.9% of the time, it doesn't bother me at all.

You will get there, good for you for being so well adjusted already.

• Like Like x 5
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • Useful Useful x 1
      • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
    3. sandra72

sandra72 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      may 2014