Does Anyone Have Any Advice? Musicians?

Discussion in 'Support' started by A123Lon, Dec 17, 2016.

1. A123Lon
      Dramaqueen

A123Lon Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud Music
      I don't even know what I'm expecting from this but I'm going crazy right now. I've had tinnitus for 3/4 years and I'd kinda got used to it and it was fine. But then recently I was listening to music pretty loud in my room and I noticed a new layer twice as loud as the old one which I thought would disappear, but it didn't. I then fell ill and had to take a course of antibiotics (penicillin to be exact) and I feel like that might have had an impact.

I've never been sensitive to sounds but recently loud noises really hurt my ears, like two plates being stacked on each other (which is really shit cause I work in a restaurant). I'm scared to go to work because everyone chucks the plates down and I leave with what feels like louder ringing ears but I think I'll get fired if I take another day off.

My problem is that I'm a musician and I want to be a professional music producer. I know I'm really talented at it and that I could easily have a job in that field if I worked for it. But last night I decided to work on some stuff with my overhead headphones on (working on the lowest possible volume you can put the laptop to) and somehow even that caused my tinnitus to get louder again today.

I have no idea what to do because I'm meant to go to work today but I'm too scared to and I can't get back to sleep anyway which is all I really want right now. Right now it feels like every tiny noise I get exposed to racks up an extra permanent layer of ringing which is happening every few days or weeks.