hello everyone

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Steven Dempsey, Apr 26, 2011.

1. hi folks , my name is steven dempsey and i have only found myself with this hellish buzzing in both ears V load, sometimes i feel i can hear it in my head too, i honestly dont know how some of yous get by with this every day for 5 yr - 10 yrs - 20 yrs etc etc , i have only had it for 7-8 months now
      and feel like i just cant cope with it for much longer , is there anything a tall that can help me ,?

any info would be great

cheers steven d

2. Svein

Svein Member

I have had tinnitus for 12 years now, and it has become harder to handle the last two years. I get by with music, hiking and trying to stay "non-stress"-busy with positive things. The best for me is staying outdoors, preferably by a lake or a river, or in positive interaction with other people. I work as a teacher, so I get that positive interaction a lot.
      I've tried low volume white sound for masking, but haven't really got much out of that yet. And I have hearing aids because of a slight hearing loss. They bring in more sound from my surroundings, and that helps.
      I have tried antidepressants, but they haven't helped me. If you feel you need that to stress down and lower anxiety, don't be afraid to try.
      Try to live like you did before t, and pust t back by spoiling yourself/doing your favorite things.
      Live and cope!

3. Jim
      Happy

Jim Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      04/2007
      Hi Steven, welcome to the forum. Sorry to hear you are having a tough time right now. I have noticed a pattern over the last few years with my involvement in this and other forums. The first year is often the most difficult for people to deal with. You will over time begin to habituate so try not to stress about it too much.
      The fact that people do cope with it for many years should be encouraging to you. This is evidence that you can adjust to it like others have.