Hello Forum

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Steven Blade, Mar 14, 2014.

1. Steven Blade
      Balanced

Steven Blade Member

Tinnitus Since:
      January 2014
      Hi all-
      My name is Steve, I'm 38 and was just diagnosed with nose induced tinnitus today. It's been going on for a couple of months and at first I thought it was sinus related. Unfortunately, after going through the motions with my allergist and primary care doctor (who came up empty handed), I arrived at the ENT to confirm what I already knew and what they prepared me for. Noise induced tinnitus. I'm a drummer. Been playing since 5. I've been playing in rock bands and jazz bands my whole life. I like my band to sound good on stage and front of house and I like rockin out to my music whether on my iPad, car stereo or PA. Of course, I intentionally withheld all of this from the doctors so they wouldn't discount it to noise induced tinnitus- God forbid there is a more serious underlying issue. But the hearing test was the tell all......3K, 4K and 6K frequency suck outs in the left ear and 2K, 3K and 4K suck outs in the right ear. Classic, text book noise induced tinnitus according to the doctor. I didn't even have to tell him.

So, I'm here. I'm good. I had the initial shock set in a coupe of weeks ago. Denial. Refusal. Panic. Fear. Anxiety. Will it go away? Will I go crazy if it doesn't? I feel I am strong enough to heal. My wife and children are with me. I'm ok physically......nothing is wrong. And after discovering and talking to folks close to me (friends, relatives, co-workers) that have lived with this most of their lives, the stress, fear, panic and anxiety has gotten much better..