Hi Everyone

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by tj99, Oct 6, 2017.

1. tj99

tj99 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      09/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      possibly triggered by a concert
      Hi all,

My tinnitus just started about a week ago. I am a long time musician and have attended many concerts back in the day. I am 56 now. I may have had some very low level tinnitus for a while but after seeing a band at a bar, which did not seem that loud to me, maybe 2 days later a high frequency ringing started. This has completely disrupted my life. I am in the middle of school, trying to get a degree since I lost my job about 9 months ago. This put me into a complete stall on that because I can't concentrate or sleep.

My wife of course wants to run the other way and just tells me stories about people who suffer with things everyday and make the best of it and I should too. I have read stories on this forum about what a common occurrence that is but it makes me even more depressed that I can't get empathy from my own spouse. That's why I decided to join this forum.

The constant theme I see is that it gets better and you acclimate to the tinnitus. I have a question with regards to that. Is it better to forget about all the noise machines and masking type therapies in order to acclimate faster or are these things a good part of therapy?

I've seen a general practitioner who did a hearing test and said my hearing is good. I am currently waiting on a referral to an audiologist.

• Like Like x 1
    2. Luman
      Benevolent

Luman Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      07/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Intermittent Tinnitus probably noise induced