Hi! New to "T" and to Forum

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by StubbyJ, May 8, 2016.

1. StubbyJ

StubbyJ Member

Tinnitus Since:
      05/02/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud Noise Exposure
      Hello!

I'm looking to introduce myself and also seek advice as my tinnitus is only 6 days old. I understand that in the early stages it's best to get "cracking" as therapies can have a "better" results. I'm a 41 year old musician living in St/Paul MN USA, who has been around loud noises all my life, with the music portion only being in the last four years at loud volume. Before being a musician I was around lawn mowers, weed-whips and motorcycles all my life (I understand hearing loss is cumulative).

Last Friday night I was testing out an amp with my left ear toward the amp. The amp was probably too loud as it caused ear fatigue. The kicker was when someone turned on a set of main-speakers just as I was walking in front of them.....bam, it stung it was so loud. I then ceased all activity. I noticed no residual.....until Monday.

Two days later (05/02/2016) I was climbing into bed and I noticed my ear (left) ringing. As I'm a musician, I immediately thought, "Oh, S**T, here it is, the big "T". I immediately searched the net for things to "do" and with this, found tinnitustalk.

If note: Oddly, two weeks prior I've been having random fleeting dizzy spells and the occasional feeling of someone grabbing my head and lifting me and inch off the floor (could it have started earlier).

Symptoms:
      1. Fullness/heat itching in left ear with cracking and drainage into throat/nose. 2. Soft hissing/white noise with a solid/distinct 4-5000 hz tone through the "center, out he back of the ear/head (tone comes and goes)." Both have fluctuated from a 6/10 t0 2/10, with at one point a 10 minute period of "freedom" (this morning). Oddly, last night it was real loud just before falling asleep but tapered to a 3/10.