I Don’t Know What to Do Anymore: I'm Now in a Psychiatric Hospital and Tinnitus Is Crushing Me

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Vicki3116, Dec 4, 2020.

1. Vicki3116

Vicki3116 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      August 2020
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Idiopathic
      Hi, this is my first time posting and I could really use some support.

Tinnitus started in August for no particular reason, started as a random beep in my right ear but then became a super high pitched noise every second on and off, on and off. It’s been 4 months of this now and it’s mentally torturous, there isn’t a minute of the day I feel ok and it’s progressed so much so that I can hear it over everything. It’s like electricity running through my head every couple of seconds which makes concentration near impossible. There isn’t a second of the day that I don’t suffer with this.

I work for the NHS and I’ve tried to go back to work 3 times since this started and haven’t been able to. It’s become so intrusive and debilitating that I’m now in the psychiatric hospital attached to the hospital I work in.

I can’t believe that such a debilitating disorder exists as 4 months ago I was fine and now my life is in tatters. The effect this has had on my life is unbearable, I literally don’t enjoy anything anymore and I struggle to face another day of it. The anxiety reaction to the noise has long gone but the despair and loss of sense of self is extremely prominent. This doesn’t feel like a life anymore, it’s just surviving day to day and praying to wake up from the most horrendous nightmare.

I really don’t know what I’m asking for on here, just some hope that it won’t always be this way? I saw an ENT who said it’ll 100% go away but it’s got many times worse since, my parents took me to the Tinnitus Clinic in London but they said they couldn’t help me because the noise is too erratic and loud.

I just feel crushed. Every day I’m amazed at how a noise can ruin a life.