I Hear the Crickets Too

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Kristian Strom, Dec 11, 2011.

1. Kristian Strom

Kristian Strom Member

Tinnitus Since:
      ?
      Hello. My name is Kristian. I am not sure how long I have had tinnitus. If I had to guess, I would say it has been around 15 years or so. But honestly, it has been so long and I have gotten so used to having it that I don't remember what is was like to not have tinnitus.

I am a musician. I play in loud bands and I have done so for almost 20 years now. I used to never wear ear protection. I do now but the damage has already been done. I don't think I have experienced any permanent hearing damage or loss. It seems like my hearing is still very well intact. But I also hear a constant high pitch ringing noise. It is not very loud. I have not done the DB threshold test but I really only notice it at night or when my surroundings are pretty calm. My biggest worry about my condition is that it might get worse over time. Right now, I can tolerate it. But if it worsens, then who knows.

My tinnitus has not really been an issue for me yet (atleast, not that I am aware of). I've gotten very used to it and have basically ignored it for as long as I can remember. I am only now starting to get "curious" about what it is and what can be done to remedy it. I will say this though... I do have problems sleeping at night and I do get depressed occassionally. I have never figured out why I have these problems and am starting to wonder if maybe the tinnitus has something to do with it.