I Work in the Fire Department and ER — Sleep, Stress, Hormone, Anxiety Issues Followed by Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by FirstFlight, Apr 14, 2021.

1. FirstFlight

FirstFlight Member

Tinnitus Since:
      03/15/2021
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hey guys,

Been lurking for a month or so, thought it wouldn't hurt to give an intro and post some of my story so far.

I know I've barely had it a month but, I work in the medical field and have gained a new level of insight on how to look at this after getting it myself, I'm interested in knowing more and like to help and talk to other people I meet just to give them some hope or spread some information at least.

Long story as short as I can, I'm a Medic that works in the Fire Department as well as the ER overnight. For the last two years I've had some sleep issues from shift work that they gave me Ambien for, seemed to help but still was pretty back and forth... We work 24 hours usually with little sleep, then working nights just didn't help. The stress started to creep on after COVID-19 hit, people quit, call volume through the roof, we started getting mandated for 48 hour shifts every week with no sleep sometimes driving a lot and super stressful situations and that constant fear of the tones going off.

Add in some hormone issues with medication, stress, anxiety, and a touch of health anxiety from another unrelated issue with my arm, and by the end of February I was just a wreck, not sleeping for days at a time even on Ambien. By the time the tinnitus kicked in, it just made a whole situation worst. They tried to mandate me one morning for an additional 24 hours after not sleeping all night and having the tinnitus and I just broke down crying saying I can't do it and thankfully my Captain saw I was being serious and let me go home.