I'm Curious, Did Most of You Have Depression or Anxiety Problems Before Tinnitus?

Discussion in 'Support' started by JasonP, Feb 19, 2016.

1. JasonP
      No Mood

JasonP Member

Tinnitus Since:
      6/2006
      I had problems with depression swings and anxiety issues before tinnitus. I used to take Klonopin to lower tinnitus after I got it and then started taking it regularly. Slowly but surely after a few years my hearing worsened and my ringing became louder. Klonopin no longer lowered the ringing and I had really bad depression issues. (I would highly discourage long term Klonopin usage, though I am no doctor). Some days I accept the tinnitus and it is no big deal and other days its bad. Right now I am taking a medication that I hope will help even out some of the mood swings so I will have to see if it helps. What I am basically wondering is, if part of the problem of coping sometimes lies with either hormones or brain function where we sometimes have trouble accepting the tinnitus. I think I have definitely made progress but due to my background way before tinnitus in mood swings I think it makes it harder than the large majority of people that have tinnitus and don't let it bother them in the least (like my mom for instance).

2. glynis
      Feminine

glynis Member Benefactor Ambassador Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Meniere's Disease
      Hope you start to feel more positive as your medication kicks in.
      Talking therapy is good and works on regaining confidence and coping skills and they both together help in a positive move forward in coping with tinnitus......lots of love glynis

I went through depression and came out stronger and no longer a sad withdrawn person ....

3. LadyDi
      Busy

LadyDi Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      06/2013
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Barotrauma/airplane
      • Like Like x 1
    4. Zug
      Woot

Zug Member Benefactor