Music Producer Struggling to Find Hope

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by nash13, May 30, 2020.

1. nash13

nash13 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      02/2020
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Dentist drill, stress
      Hello,

First of all I want to say I love this community. I'm constantly impressed and inspired by the knowledge and empathy shared in these threads.

A bit about me...

I've been a full time music producer/composer for almost four years now.

I had a concussion last August that gave me temporary mild tinnitus in my left ear (the side I hit my head on). By November 2019 it was gone, I don't even remember thinking about it or noticing any ringing for months.

Fast forward to February 2020, a series of unfortunate events took place. I started taking Wellbutrin (what a mistake) for my chronic depression and a few weeks later I had a dentist cleaning.

When I was walking to my car to drive to my dentist appointment there were construction workers cutting down a tree right next to my car. I rushed to get in my car and attempted to plug my ears but the sound was so incredibly loud.

The dentist cleaning drill absolutely terrorized me that day. I've had cleanings my whole life and never had the drill bother me this much. It actually made my eyes water to the point the hygienist switched to manual tools (I wish I knew about this beforehand). I actually need to get a filling replaced, but I'm obviously terrified and have been avoiding going. I know they will need to use drill. I wish they could just put me under anesthesia.

My tinnitus is super high pitched ringing in the left ear mostly and is at it's peak in the afternoons and evenings.

It was traumatic month. I quit Wellbutrin immediately and switched to Trazodone for sleep.