My Dream Is to Get a Motorcycle License — Can Driving a Motorcycle Make Tinnitus Worse?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Lynny, May 18, 2022.

1. Lynny

Lynny Member

Tinnitus Since:
      December 2018
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown, possibly stress
      Hi everyone,

I’d really like to ask someone with some motorcycle-experience some (possibly dumb) questions about motorcycles / tinnitus (or hearing loss in general).

It’s been my dream for years to get my license, and I’ve been saving up since I was about 15 years old. Unfortunately at 19 I got hit with tinnitus, and since then I didn’t dare consider it.

I am now 22 years old and finally feeling like things are starting to go okay in my life (relatively!). I’ve been noticing bikes everywhere I go and although I’ve tried to forget about it, I can’t stop thinking about it.

I don’t know a lot about how risky it is exactly for hearing loss, or whether it’s a crazy idea that I should forget about definitively.

Thank you kindly, I appreciate it a lot!

2. Rockman

Rockman Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      1/2021
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise, allergy
      I think the biggest thing would be wind noise. Hopefully there's someone on here with more knowledge of riding.

• Like Like x 1
      • Agree Agree x 1
    3. Marshall
      Anime

Marshall Member

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2021
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Barotrauma/virus/loud noise/antibiotics
      Motorcycles are loud. Make sure you’re wearing earplugs and obviously a helmet.

• Agree Agree x 2
    4. Jack Straw
      Balanced

Jack Straw Member Podcast Patron Benefactor Ambassador Hall of Fame Advocate

Tinnitus Since:
      1990s
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Infection, Acoustic Trauma
      I know there are some members here who still ride so hopefully they can weigh in. There is also some good threads here about head protection if you can search for them.

• Agree Agree x 1
    5. MCB
      Sunshine

MCB Member