New to Tinnitus and Not Coping Well at All

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Scottrock, Dec 20, 2016.

1. Scottrock
      Fine

Scottrock Member

Tinnitus Since:
      2 weeks
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Possibly ear infection or loud music
      Hi
      My name is Brett and I live in Qatar with my wife and two daughters (16 & 18). I am brand new to tinnitus (over 2 weeks now). It came along with with an ear infection - the infection is gone but the high pitch ringing remains. Have seen a few doctors from GP to ENT. Is it time to give up and accept that it is here forever?

2. Ludvik

Ludvik Member

Tinnitus Since:
      23/11/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Ear Infection + Noise Induced
      Hey Brett, mine started with an ear infection as well and going on 4 weeks now. From some of the stuff I've read here, people say there's still a chance for it go away in several months. If it stays after 6 it's most likely permanent.

Protect your ears. I honestly believe I wouldn't be in this position if I had protected my ears while they were infected and vulnerable, and allowed them to heal slowly. I went to several loud events which made my ringing much louder, which makes it difficult to deal with.

I'm a bit more accepting of mine these days cause I suffer much more if I'm constantly wishing for it go away, but I still have hope that it'll go (or at least reduce to a more bearable level)

For now I find the most helpful thing is to do things which make you happy and stay positive, talk to loved ones and engage in hobbies. The depression and anxiety definitely starts to settle down as time passes, and they do return but they pass again. It's a test of patience and acceptance.

I hope your wife and children can give you support and understanding through this time.

• Agree Agree x 2
    3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      Scottrock
      Fine

Scottrock Member

Tinnitus Since:
      2 weeks
      Cause of Tinnitus: