New to Tinnitus. Tried with Some Success to Reduce It.

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by 7500Hz, Oct 17, 2017.

1. 7500Hz

7500Hz Member

Tinnitus Since:
      09/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      TL;DR: I had some success using a combination of things, but who knows if it will last! Details below.

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to this whole tinnitus thing, and can I just say for the record that it sucks? Here is the lowdown on what I am experiencing and what I have tried to reduce it.

This summer I had a nasty recurring flu that knocked me on my backside multiple times. On the tail end of this I believe I may have had a bit of an ear infection. I was doing a fair amount of swimming at this time including some deep-ish free dives to 40 or so feet. I am an experienced scuba diver and clear my ears whether I am scuba or free diving. A week or so after doing some of these deeper dives I noticed the ringing start. Mine is a consistent 7500Hz in the right ear. I stood at night in a forest full of stars and for the first time did not hear silence and it was awful. It should be said that this also coincided with the end of summer which means increased work stress, less exercise, and less going outside in general. I have also spent a fair amount of time over the past 10 years at music events, so, there are multiple vectors that this could have arisen from.

I finally went to the doc about 3 weeks after the noise started. She took a look in my ears, said everything looked fine, that it was benign, and that there was little that could be done with it and it was poorly understood.

This didn't sit well with me.