Noise-Induced Tinnitus from Loud Rock Concert... (My Story)

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Tuomas, Jul 25, 2017.

1. Tuomas
      Caffeine

Tuomas Member

Tinnitus Since:
      07/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud rock concert
      Hello!
      I'm 21 and I went to this kickass rock concert (early July) with my friends. Now I'm a musician, and I've been to many gigs and concerts before, and I've always protected my ears, but on this occasion I really messed up...
      I forgot my earplugs in my backpack, but I decided to try my luck without them. We were positioned about 10-15 meters from the stage and it was loud as hell! It was a club gig.

My ears weren't hurting at all, but it was really uncomfortable. About Twenty-forty minutes of that, and I found a small room where they sold earplugs, put them on immediately After the gig my hearing wasn't all that muffled, but oh boy the ringing! I heard what people spoke, and I could had a conversation, but his T that has developed since, has been with me for little over three weeks now. I'm beginning to worry! I have a whole life ahead of me and a grad school to finish! Nights have been the worst, I really need to focus out of my T to get some sleep. When I play sports, I barely notice it, but whenever I'm in "silence", all I hear is this damned ringing. I would rate the loudness 5 or 6 out of 10. I work as a part-time call center worker, so I'm fearful it will make my T worse.

I've read that it is a possibility that noise induced T can lessen significantly within 2 years. I can take that, but then there are these horror stories of T being in there for the rest of life! I found this forum, and it is nice to know that I am not alone in this... I'm just beginning to fear that this is a battle that I can't keep on for much longer. Should I go see an ENT or audiologist? Do I have hope?

I learned a valuable lesson here, better safe than sorry!

• Hug Hug x 1
    2. GregCA
      Jaded