Pain, Tinnitus, Hearing Loss, etc. Looking to Make a Claim Against Employer.

Discussion in 'Support' started by Startingover, Jul 8, 2015.

1. Startingover

Startingover Member

Tinnitus Since:
      it's been years
      Hi everyone, I'm happy to have found this forum that has sections with active participants. I posted on a hyperacusis forum years ago that hardly sees traffic anymore and am hoping to gather feedback here.

The reason for today's post is that I am having difficulty at work where I'm a call center agent and have been experiencing ear pain, T and noticed some hearing loss over the course of the past year. When I started working there in 2014, I wore Etymotic musician's earplugs with 9 dB attenuators (filters) and over the past few months, upgraded to with 15 dB, but my ears continue to hurt. I did get an ear infection that was diagnosed by an ENT doctor around Feb 2015 - antibiotics were prescribed but I didn't have it filled as I misplaced the prescription, and the infection eventually disappeared. The pain and ringing did not. I also noticed that I now have to turn the volume higher when watching videos on my laptop, stuff on TV and especially when I'm tired, I have to ask both customers on the phone and cashiers in public, to repeat themselves. Classic sign of hearing loss, I'm afraid.