Pulsatile Tinnitus Made Worse by Bang on Head

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Pulsingeflat, Nov 23, 2014.

1. Pulsingeflat

Pulsingeflat Member

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2009
      I've had pulsatile tinnitus for about 5 years. It became apparent when I stopped drinking (after years of alcohol abuse), but I became reasonably habituated and was only really having problems sleeping.
      A few months ago I suffered a minor head injury, and since then the volume has gone up 4x. Now I often can't sleep at all.
      I'm interested in therapies relating to anxiety, but have become more convinced there is a physical cause in my own case. I have great conductive hearing and can even hear my eyeballs moving around. This is great for practising on the bass guitar as I don't need to plug in, but not much else.
      I'm thinking about making a short video investigating tinnitus and therapy (I'm a professional photographer/videographer), and will be interested in hearing from other sufferers who might be able to contribute.
      I am based in Salisbury, UK.

• Like Like x 1
    2. Karen
      Talkative

Karen Manager Staff Benefactor Ambassador Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      05/2010
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      First time: Noise 2nd Time: Ototoxic drug
      Hi, Pulsingflat,

I'm also a pulsatile tinnitus sufferer. I've had it for about 4 1/2 years now, and it has been hard to live with for all of that time. Mine started suddenly after taking a blood pressure drug. I also have regular tinnitus, which was quite mild before that time, and became much more severe. The regular tinnitus has a high-pitched, hissing tone. Do you have regular tinnitus, as well as pulsatile tinnitus?