Self-Harm

Discussion in 'Health Talk' started by LiveIGuess, Apr 28, 2015.

1. LiveIGuess
      Moonlighting

LiveIGuess Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      I've been self-harming for about nine months now. Cutting for six. I've tried to quit several times, but I always seem to start again after a couple of weeks or so. I spoke with the school nurse at school. Both about the cutting and some other problems, but I only went there two times. The second time things weren't that bad so we decided not to make another appointment..and now I'm back here.

Summer's coming up and my cuts kind of have to heal before then, since I don't want my family to know about it, but quitting is easier said than done. I've tried different ways of quitting. For example distracting myself when I feel the urge to cut, plan things better so I won't be so stressed, talk about it, put ice cubes on it, listen to music.. Nothing really seems to work when I get so stressed out or sad that it all becomes overwhelming.

Any tips on how to quit?

• Hug Hug x 2
    2. marqualler
      Nerdy

marqualler Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2014
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Ear infection / Mild Noise Induced Hearing Loss
      Hi @LiveIGuess--I think this a question above what I or anybody else on the board can answer. If you haven't already, I would try to see a therapist who specializes in cognitive behavioral therapy.

• Agree Agree x 2
      • Like Like x 1
    3. Brianna
      No Mood

Brianna Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2011
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      No clue - too many causes.
      Hang loose and give me time to respond to you. I have a family member who did it and will email that person (who can be insanely busy). My partner is a counselor and I'll ask her. The problem is I may not be able to get back to you for some hours. With her, it got bad...