A Survey on Self-Management and Empowerment of Tinnitus Talk Users

Discussion in 'Research News' started by Jorge P. Simoes, May 8, 2023.

1. Jorge P. Simoes
      Inspired

Jorge P. Simoes Member

Tinnitus Since:
      02/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hi folks,

My name is Jorge and I am an assistant professor of AI and mental health at the University of Twente, the Netherlands. I am collaborating on a project with @Hazel and @Markku where we investigate the profile of the users of Tinnitus Talk on different dimensions. We came up with an online survey to better understand the relationship between passive and active engagement on Tinnitus Talk on users (1) empowerment, (2) self-management, (3) and perception of tinnitus on one’s health. We are also assessing (4) the quality of care you received for your tinnitus from a healthcare provider.

Empowerment and self-management are two key components when coping with chronic conditions, especially when dealing with a condition like tinnitus where not so many (effective) therapeutic options are available (point 4). Unfortunately, this is very little investigated in tinnitus research, and we aim to fill this important research gap.

We aim to have the results of this survey published in a peer-reviewed publication and will also be used in research grants that @Hazel, @Markku, and I are working on, so your participation is very much appreciated. Also, feel free to share this survey with anyone suffering from tinnitus, regardless of whether they are users of Tinnitus Talk or not, we are aiming for a few hundred participants but the more the better. :)