Update After a Year

Discussion in 'Support' started by UKJon, Apr 16, 2018.

1. UKJon

UKJon Member

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2014
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Prolonged stress followed by bereavement
      Greetings.

I have not posted here since March 2017.

I had been battling (albeit) mild tinnitus after caring for my mother and the subsequent bereavement/breakdown. 3 years of hell which really started at the end of 2014.

As I type this, my tinnitus is now at the point where I hardly use my bedside sound system to help me sleep. In fact, I think I only used it about 10 times in February and once for the whole of March. April so far has also been very good.

My tinnitus has definitely receded as time has passed and previous pressures have gone. I had been praying for this to happen since the end of 2014 so you can imagine my joy. I stopped attending mindfulness meditation last year and now go dancing instead (with earplugs). I also stopped seeing my therapist.

However, I don't think I'll ever be free of the fear that it might return for no obvious reason. My hearing has been tested recently. I'm 55 and it's as good as someone half my age so I know that my tinnitus was all due to prolonged stress. I never expose my ears to dangerous levels of noise either. What remains is the phobia of tinnitus and the shadow of the possibility of it returning at any time in the future, particularly when I'm stressed (although I am not expecting to ever be a carer for a loved one again) or when I'm just starting to enjoy life again.

I'm still hyper aware and 'listening out' especially at night of course and as you can tell, it is still on my mind enough for me to keep a night record. I've always been an obsessive. What I have left is silent to 'slight' tinnitus but the fear of it increasing again is still a major worry especially after so much past suffering and naked fear.