When I Hum It Makes My Ear Ring

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by AMAC, Jan 5, 2020.

1. AMAC

AMAC Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Work
      Hey everyone. I have had an interesting thing start to happen. I have had tinnitus for about 6 years but nothing that really ever bothered me. I am an audio engineer but have protected my ears very well since then. Last month I had a very stressful, very exhausting 3 weeks that required me to mix 2 full projects and record and vocal produce everyday for a lot of hours. Even during this time I am very aware if my sound levels and carry around molded ear plugs but that doesn't mean it doesn't get loud from time to time.

When i first realized something had changed I was holing my ear closed and walking. I realized every time I took a step I hear a ringing, ping kind of sound. Then later at the studio I realized the bass was triggering a ring in my ear even though I was in another room. Sometimes just when people were talking to me the ring would happen. If I cover my ear and hum I can hear it and it reacts to the vibrations. Meaning if I make a pattern with my hum the ring follows and it gets amplified the louder the sound is even with ear plugs in. I can hear it with or without ear plugs. Sometimes just a car going by outside will make it go off but as soon as there is no external sound or I stop humming it stops. The ringing sounds like what they do in movies when a bomb explodes.