Any Advice for a 16-Year-Old Guitarist? Tinnitus for 2 Months Now

Discussion in 'Support' started by kinnawack, Oct 13, 2021.

1. kinnawack

kinnawack Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown
      Hi. I'm 16 and have a continuous ringing in my left ear that developed about 2 months ago.

I'm a guitarist and although I'm not usually exposed to any loud noises for a prolonged period of time it still persists.

I have no idea if it's permanent. I was told that it is uncommon at my age to have long-lasting tinnitus. It's pretty depressing tbh and leaves me restless, I can't relax.

Does anyone have any advice or something to keep me going because the thought of having this for life really gets me down.

Cheers.

• Hug Hug x 8
    2. LukeYoung
      Frantic

LukeYoung Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      06/2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      A loud Concert - Noise Exposure
      Hey, sorry to hear about your recent bout with tinnitus. It sucks to have it at 16, but your brain will learn to block it out. You still get a mix of good and bad days. You will need to be careful from now on. No headphones until you are very sure and can limit them. No concerts, loud cinema etc.

Try masking with white noise sounds. Fans have always worked for me, as I always had one on even before tinnitus.

• Agree Agree x 2
    3. Matchbox
      Wishful

Matchbox Member

Tinnitus Since:
      08/2020
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise Induced, Prednisone (drones), Barotrauma (distortions)
      What's the dB level of white noise measured on your phone that you need to mask this so you don't hear it in a room? If less than 25-30, you're in the mild category and this might clear up on it's own over the year.