Can Mild Tinnitus Remain Mild?

Discussion in 'Support' started by kamil1364, Oct 16, 2020.

1. kamil1364

kamil1364 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      08/2020
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Possibly noise-induced
      The title says it all.

I am not talking about standing next to a massive speaker for whole night or blasting your ears with headphones at max volume.

I am talking about ,,usual" stuff, like not wearing earplugs at cinema (it's just weird, I can't imagine doing that).

Also, is there anything more to tinnitus development which we know about? Noise-induced tinnitus is usually sign of hearing loss to some extent, but that doesn't explain people who are nearly deaf and don't experience tinnitus or people with almost perfect audiogram who suffer from moderate tinnitus.

Also, I'm sorry for making so much new posts. I am very new to this thing, and I really go through emotional rollercoaster.

• Hug Hug x 1
    2. Kady70

Kady70 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      medication
      My tinnitus remained mild for 18 years. I developed tinnitus from taking just one pill of an antibacterial drug called Vioxx (which has been taken off the market). Just this year I've been experiencing unbearably loud spikes in my left ear. ENT, Primary Care, Audiologist doctors have been no help!

• Hug Hug x 1
    3. BobDigi
      Kick ass

BobDigi Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud noise
      Tinnitus always seems to get worse with time. The ear is damaged so it will continue to get more damaged, not less damaged. I think those who think their tinnitus has gotten quieter, have just gotten more used to it!

• Agree Agree x 2
      • Funny Funny x 1
    4. Snake
      Heartbroken

Snake Member

Tinnitus Since:
      08/2011
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      2011 - Gaming on headphones. 2020 - Severe by breaking glass