Has Anyone Habituated to Tinnitus Only While Wearing White Noise Generators?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Poseidon65, Jul 3, 2021.

1. Poseidon65

Poseidon65 Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      1/2020
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      A loud live music show
      The title of this thread says it all. Has anyone been able to habituate to tinnitus with white noise generators (WNGs), but not without?

In my case, WNGs make this condition easier to deal with. I’ve been using them at almost all times (except sleep) over the past 4 months. With WNGs, I am at least a little bit habituated.

But without WNGs, it’s very hard. I tried not using them yesterday, and it was super tough. Honestly I have a hard time seeing myself ever getting used to the sound without WNGs. Note I am 17 months in, so not a total newbie.

I’m curious, has anyone reached the point where they consider themselves “habituated” with WNGs in, but not without? Truthfully I have no issue with wearing WNGs for life if I have to, but I wanted to ask if this has been the “end state” for anyone else.

2. Michael Leigh

Michael Leigh Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      04/1996
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Noise induced
      I didn't realize you use white noise generators. For best results you should also be having counselling although this is not always essential. They should be used daily for up to 10 hours and the volume set slightly below the tinnitus. Once they are put on in the morning and the volume set they should be left alone.

Over time the brain habituates to the white noise and slowly pushes the tinnitus further into the background making it less noticeable. If the volume of white noise is constantly adjusted it makes it more difficult for the brain to habituate to it. White noise generators treat tinnitus and hyperacusis if it is present. I fully habituated using white noise generators and they cured my hyperacusis in two years.

Michael

3. Matchbox
      Wishful