Hello, I'm a Violinist and Guitarist. I Just Got Tinnitus Over the Dumbest Reason.

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by dengphua, Aug 6, 2017.

1. dengphua

dengphua Member

Tinnitus Since:
      august 2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      someone screamed in my ear for 10 seconds
      So I recently discovered that I have tinnitus.

How? Last Sunday while I was studying with somebody, who is a bit autistic and has anger issues, screamed in my ear loudly while chokeholding me for 10 seconds.

I discovered the ringing in my ear the day after. It has been a week, and I am very sad about having this for the rest of my life. I am only 20 years old, and I don't know how to live with this, especially because I was not even in a place where loud noise is common like a concert or playing a gig. I pray that this short term noise tinnitus will subside, right now it is very loud and high pitched when I am in a quiet room, I do not see much hope.

I am a musician and aspiring voice actor, getting tinnitus is really dampening my spirits.

• Hug Hug x 7
      • Good Question Good Question x 1
      • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
    2. Kolisar
      No Mood

Kolisar Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      birth?
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      unknown
      Hello @dengphua, and welcome.

I was a musician, and do some occasional voice acting. While I cannot hear your particular symptoms, as a life-long suffer of tinnitus, I have been able to do my voice over work, and still can sing (although I no longer play guitar, but that is not due to tinnitus, more from lack of talent).

I do not have the links handy, but if you have not yet, I recommend searching out the articles written by @Michael Leigh. They are very informative and helpful.

I would recommend reading through he success stories. Many people here have had their symptoms stop, drastically reduce, or have learned to habituate; all resulting in them being able to return to a "normal" life.