HELLO! My Name Is Scott. I Live in Norfolk VA.

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Basebeau, Jan 20, 2018.

1. Basebeau
      Balanced

Basebeau Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      musical related sound?
      I have been suffering from chronic tinnitus for about 4 years now. I think my pitch is about 6Khz. I have habituated pretty well, but have a real hard time dealing with total silence. Probably because here isn’t any silence. I would give anything to be able to experience silence again! I am a bassist in the Virginia Symphony Orchestra. Amazingly I can still perform my job, but now I am vigilant about loud sound! If I didn’t play double bass, it might be much harder. I can put my left ear on the instrument to hear my playing clearly and I hear the rest of the group through my right ear. The left ear I have lost 2/3rds of the hearing and that is where I hear the ringing the most. Anybody on here have more resources to facilitate more habituation? ☮️

2. glynis
      Feminine

glynis Member Benefactor Ambassador Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Meniere's Disease
      Hearing aids really help .
      Make sure if you keep playing you use the best ear protection available .
      Love glynis

3. fishbone
      Shitfaced

fishbone Member Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      loud noise and very bad sickness
      Habituation = coping/acceptance/mindset + techniques. In my 30 years of experience, I have found that acceptance of the situation is vital to habituation. We can use all the techniques in the world, but if our mindset is still negative, then habituation will be very difficult to achieve.

Acceptance is vital and can work wonders in life and with tinnitus. Sure, it may not be what we like to accept, but if it is happening each day, then I accept it and not fight it.