Is This Chronic Tinnitus After Going to an Indoors Techno Festival?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by tiniturk, Dec 16, 2022.

1. tiniturk
      No Mood

tiniturk Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      11/2022
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Acoustic trauma
      Hi all!

First of all, I want to say how much I appreciate Tinnitus Talk. It has truly been a huge help to me.

Anyway, my story: on November 12th of this year I went to a live indoor techno festival for the first time in my life. As a newbie, I did not use earplugs, a choice that I would regret to this day.

After the festival, which ended late in the evening, I noticed high-pitched ringing in both my ears. I’m talking fighter-jet-loud. Because I had heard from friends that this is “normal” after a night out, I did not pay much attention to it and simply went to sleep, kind of assuming that it would go away the next day.

It did not. It was still there, but I was still relaxed. Fast forward a week, the ringing had stopped in my right ear completely, but was still there in my left ear, albeit on a considerably lower volume. You could almost say that it wasn’t there anymore, just the slightest of a ringing sound.

After this week, I was really happy that the ringing had went away and counted my blessings. I immediately bought earplugs and did not visit any other festival or club in the meantime, until I decided to watch a World Cup game with friends last Friday, the 9th of December. Netherlands scored, and all my friends roared GOAL for a couple seconds which spiked my tinnitus in my left ear again. I was devastated. It is now December 16th, and although the ringing has gradually subsided, it’s still there, much louder than when it went away after the first week.

Do you guys think it will go away again? It’s still kinda manageable at this point and it is (very slowly) reducing in volume so I’m still relaxed about it, but I am wondering what you guys think. Can I not go to parties again?