My Tinnitus Success Story — Please Read Carefully

Discussion in 'Success Stories' started by TinniGone, Dec 10, 2020.

1. TinniGone

TinniGone Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud music
      I am sharing my honest success story, but please read carefully the context and how I treated my tinnitus. It might not be applicable to everyone. I am not a doctor. Always consult with a doctor.

CONTEXT

It all started in 2010. I was 30. It was a party weekend, having gone clubbing for two consecutive nights. On the latter night, a large speaker was placed on the wall right close to my head.

The morning after I had the ringing in both ears. I often had the temporarily ringing after a loud night, but this time I knew it was different. On other instances, the ringing would be barely felt when I would wake up. But this time it was still loud.

Three days later, with the ringing lower but still very annoying, I went to an ENT and my hearing showed weakness on some frequencies. I was just told "there is no nothing we can do, time will tell".

All this was happening at a stressful moment in my life for personal and professional reasons. I am overly ambitious with OCD. I have always had a successful well paid job, but it was never enough. I always wanted more.

THE DEPRESSION AND TREATMENTS

The ringing persisted in my right ear. The left ear had a faint "fax machine" like noise, which was barely noticeable and mostly not bothering. But the right ear still had an unpleasant very high pitched whistle, similar to those old TVs (not all might relate).

I felt my life was shattered. I couldn't focus, nor enjoy simple pleasures. Most people couldn't understand my suffering. I could only find relief at the mall or when taking a shower. Otherwise the high pitch ringing would be mostly audible.