Partial Habituation

Discussion in 'Support' started by engapol, May 15, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
    1. engapol

engapol Member

Tinnitus Since:
      March 2015
      Hello, I'm new to Tinnitus unfortunately. The ringing noise began suddenly a few months ago in my right ear for no obvious reason and is still with me now. A hearing test showed that my hearing was normal if not above average for my age (18). I don't go to concerts and I don't even own a pair of headphones. Various drugs have not helped (prednisone and betaserc) and my GP and ENT haven't been of much help, though I can't blame them, we know very little about but at least research for a solution is ongoing.

Probably like most other people, it drove me mad initially but for the last few days I've begun to notice it less and less, even in a quiet environment like going to bed at night. It used to make it incredibly hard to sleep but now it's become almost bearable. It's easier to put my mind to other things now, whereas before literally 80% of the time I was just freaking out about the noise. For the last 3 days I've gone through periods of several hours without even remembering I had it, and when I did remind myself of it, it didn't bother me as much.

I'm still hoping it will go away...but if not, continued habituation is an excellent alternative.

• Agree Agree x 1
      • Hug Hug x 1
    2. MattK

MattK Member

Tinnitus Since:
      2/13/2014
      engapol, it sounds like you're making great progress already! I am hoping yours will go away too. But if it doesn't, then habituation is really the only game in town for most of us until an effective treatment/cure is found.