SSRIs and Benzos & Tinnitus

Discussion in 'Support' started by DutchGuy, Dec 3, 2014.

1. DutchGuy

DutchGuy Member

Tinnitus Since:
      07/2014
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      syringing, headphones
      One week after I tapered off lorazepam (ativan) my H went through the roof. Took it when T came onset with a little H.

2. Martin69
      Artistic

Martin69 Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      10/2013
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      (Health) Anxiety
      After my T onset, they gave me a high dosage of valium. This calmed my central nervous system and also reduced my T. But it did not go down to 98% silence.

Then I got an anti-anxiety drug (no benzo) and I had lower T for two days.

My AD (Remeron) does not affect T, but it is no benzo.

My opinion, but I am no doctor: All those brain chemistry meds have an effect on T, some more than others.
      The one, and only one, question, is: Can they cure T or do they the reduce the volume, so that there is a long-lasting effect after tapering off?

If they do not, one can use them for temporary relief, maybe for one or two days. Then the question is: Do they work reliably that they lower the volume and how high is the price (side effects)?

From the experiences here, it seems RTG has an effect on T. And it would be good if pharmacies do more research. Or maybe we are lucky and Autifony does what we are looking for.

• Agree Agree x 1
    3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      DutchGuy

DutchGuy Member

Tinnitus Since:
      07/2014
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      syringing, headphones
      Does tapering of gave me increase in H or did it help when I began using Ativan.
      I got T and H together, after tapering off H did get worse.

I read stories on benzobuddies.org from people who got T and/or H while taking or tapering off from benzos.

I read many times tapering off lorazepam/ativan is worse than tapering off heroin.