Temporary Tinnitus?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Eric1305, Feb 28, 2018.

1. Eric1305

Eric1305 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Music
      I produce music for a living and also DJ. This means I’m constantly hearing loud noises without any protection. Last week, right after finishing my DJ set, my left ear started ringing briefly every few minutes. It’s now been 5 days and my ear still rings for a few seconds every few minutes. The intensity has decreased but has been stable for the last 2-3 days. I took an appointment with an audiologist next week but meanwhile I’m freaking out. I need my ears for my career and depend on them very much.

Is this temporary? I noticed that the ringing ear is the one I use to “monitor” when I DJ. This means I have my left ear listening to speakers in the venue and my right ear is constantly covered with my headphones.

2. fishbone
      Shitfaced

fishbone Member Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      loud noise and very bad sickness
      This is a sign that your ears are bothered. You can annoy and possibly further increase the ringing by being around loud sounds. No one knows how tinnitus will act, but being around loud sounds CAN increase the volume and intensity.

• Agree Agree x 1
    3. Sven
      Fine

Sven Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      06/1999
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Loud music
      Impossible to say. No matter what it's a warning signal to you, though. There must be some kind of protection you can use, despite being a DJ.

I hope it improves.

4. glynis
      Feminine

glynis Member Benefactor Ambassador Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Meniere's Disease
      You need to start protecting your ears as they are telling you they are not happy around loud sound.
      You don't want to risk any more damadge and end up with Tinnitus none stop .