Thiamine Pyrophosphate (TPP) Stopped My Tinnitus!

Discussion in 'Alternative Treatments and Research' started by Azariah, Feb 19, 2016.

1. Azariah

Azariah Member

Tinnitus Since:
      06/1985
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Who knows?
      Hi everyone.

I'm new here. I've been lurking. This is my first post.

I have had tinnitus since 1985. Yes, 31 years! It has gotten better and worse over that time period--- sometimes to almost unbearable levels, sometimes not so bad--- but never disappeared entirely. That is, until the middle of December 2015! It totally disappeared for almost the first time in 3 decades! I was so shocked by this--- and what seemed to cause its complete remission--- that I decided to come here to share this information.

I am a physicist by training, and have read all kinds of science about tinnitus. Nothing has really seemed to help, though I did notice some correlations about things which made it worse.

I recently read a thread here by EngineerLA where he discusses Eustachian tube inflammation as a cause for tinnitus. I think he's on to something there. I'm not certain, but I suspect that what I am about to share is related to helping decrease inflammation in the Eustachian tubes or nerves.

The miracle substance that helped me is called Thiamine Pyrophosphate (TPP.) This is also known as Coenzymated Vitamin B1, Thiamine Diphosphate, and Thiamine Cocarboxylase. I bought this from a company called Source Naturals on Amazon. I think it was 11 bucks.

Brief primer on TPP:

Thiamine that you ingest in food or supplements is usually some sort of free thiamine compound. Most supplements are Thiamine HCl, and many foods are usually fortified with thiamine mononitrate (like flour and rice.) This is not the ACTIVE form of thiamine in the body, though. Your body needs to attach TWO phosphate groups to free thiamine; TPP then enters the Krebs (Citric Acid) cycle and can be used by the body.

Why did I decide to try taking this?