Tinnitus Newbie Desperate for Answers, Trying to Determine the Cause — From Cervical Injuries?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by IntotheBlue03, Dec 26, 2021.

1. IntotheBlue03

IntotheBlue03 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      12/2021
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Cervical/TBD
      Hello All,

Hope everyone is finding some sense of peace this evening and for the Holidays. I am new to tinnitus and had my onset on 12/14/2021 of moderate to severe tinnitus and needless to say, my holidays have been a nightmare between dealing with this crisis and trying to run from doctors appointment to doctors appointment right before the holidays.

I’m in the stage of heavily researching and learning everything I can and was curious if there are any other advanced tests (audio-wise or other) that you folks can recommend based on my case? I have the following:
      • Bilateral Tonal Tinnitus (between 14 kHz-15 kHz roughly)
      • No Hearing Loss based on 2 “normal” audiograms (not testing in High Frequency)
      • Normal ENT exam
      • Scheduling for a Brain MRI TBD
      I don’t know if it’s even possible to continue a “process of elimination” to determine the cause of tinnitus but so far I am hoping the MRI will be able to rule out ear/nerve damage or inflammation as a cause.

In addition, I have cervical injuries based on MRIs and a Digital Motion X-ray I took the DAY of tinnitus onset (hoping it was due to cervical irritation from extreme movements for the X-ray). So I am leaning towards somatic tinnitus and hoping PRP/Prolotherapy can help (I’ve had 4 years of prolotherapy that took me from near disabled with severe chronic pain from cervical and thoracic injuries to minimal pain now). However, my upper cervical (C0-C2) was never treated due to lack of imaging availability with a digital motion X-ray.