To Mask or Not to Mask... That Is the Question!

Discussion in 'Support' started by Glenn, Feb 19, 2014.

tinnitus forum
    1. Glenn
      Balanced

Glenn Member

Tinnitus Since:
      01/06/2014
      Thought I might get some feedback on this from all your wonderful people out there!

I work in IT and in a very quiet environment for 8 hours a day. When my T was really bad, i would turn on this noise generator online and it would make the day more bearable. Over the last couple days ive tried to ween off of the noise generator in the hopes to habituate more to the T. However, i'm having a REALLY BAD T day today and im really torn. I wanna put the generator on, and yet i don't :(

Any thoughts?

2. Tamalak
      Volatile

Tamalak Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      3/2011
      My T has been quieter since I stopped using a fan at night.

3. Sherri786
      Dreaming

Sherri786 Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2013
      I would put the generator on. I always have " tinnitus sound therapy" water sound
      From YouTube on in my room. It didn't hinder my habituation......I think.

4. Glenn
      Balanced

Glenn Member

Tinnitus Since:
      01/06/2014
      I just worry about the one day when i cant have sounds on. Like if i spend the night out of town and forget a fan or don't have access to the internet or something for the sound generator. I know that's rare but im really trying to put forth a best effect to get used to this T.

• Agree Agree x 2
    5. Misery
      Happy

Misery Member

Tinnitus Since:
      October 26, 2013
      I would use it as little as possible. I've only used ambient sounds from an app when sleeping. Now I'm at the point where I either only use it to get to sleep or I don't bother with it at all. I'd consider myself pretty well habituated.

• Like Like x 1
    6. LadyDi
      Busy

LadyDi Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      06/2013
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Barotrauma/airplane