What Is Habituation?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Dave Neale, Feb 7, 2017.

1. Dave Neale

Dave Neale Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Dec 9th 2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Sudden Single Sided Hearing Loss
      I'm new to this tinnitus thing. I went deaf in December in my left ear, and have had tinnitus in my head ever since. The tinnitus on its own isn't too bad, except at bed times and when I am quiet. The problems I have is when I go in to loud areas, mainly bars, cafes etc, then my tinnitus spikes from the noise that my good ear picks up.

I'm just wondering about two things really:

1) If anyone on this forum has habituated to spiking variable tinnitus?

and

2) What is habituation - is it that the brain just lives with the noise, or does it really block it from our conscience?

Thanks.

2. glynis
      Feminine

glynis Member Benefactor Ambassador Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Meniere's Disease
      Habituation means you are not emotionally bothered by tinnitus and can function normally and live a good life and adapted well.
      You can hear it if focus on it like now for me-
      My ears are loud but not bothering me and still feeling my happy self .

We can all get spikes and cause us problems but will settle down again and carry on as before.
      Being positive in life is a big help as there is nothing positive in being negative....lots of love glynis

• Agree Agree x 2
      • Like Like x 1
      • Helpful Helpful x 1
    3. AUTHOR
      AUTHOR
      Dave Neale

Dave Neale Member

Tinnitus Since:
      Dec 9th 2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Sudden Single Sided Hearing Loss
      @glynis Wow that sounds great. Especially since at the moment all i want is to be as I was previously. ;-(

I've been referred to a Tinnitus team at Queens hospital in Bham, and hopefully they will be offering CBT. Is that what you did, or di you just naturally habituate via brain neuroplasticity

4. glynis
      Feminine