Advice Please: Use of Earplugs Outside All the Time?

Discussion in 'Support' started by Luman, Sep 13, 2017.

1. Luman
      Benevolent

Luman Member Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      07/2017
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Intermittent Tinnitus probably noise induced
      I'm new to Tinnitus, two months, and also have moderate Hyperacusis. I live in a borough of NYC, visit Manhattan every week or two, and the streets are also noisy where I live as well. Should I wear ear protection whenever I go outside, until I either habituate or these conditions cease? I don't want to overdo it, but the "spike" stories on here are frightening to me. I've definitely made some progress, and don't know how I could cope if my T and H went back to the levels it was when this began. Today I wore a 20db "high fidelity" silicon plugs, when I was outside, the whole time. I've ordered 3M plugs, and some other plugs as well as backup. I already know, from reading the very good info on this board, that I must wear them in clubs, airports, underground subway stations, etc., but is a busy street, with traffic, horn honking, construction, sirens, etc., a threat strong enough to warrant the use of earplugs?

I don't want to develop a phobia, or cause other problems, but at the same time I want to heal and protect myself from further damage, especially "permanent spikes", etc. At the same time, I don't want to over-sensitize my ears, if this makes sense. This is all very unnerving.

Thanks, I appreciate any suggestions and/or support.

2. yonkapin

yonkapin Member Benefactor

Tinnitus Since:
      March 2012
      Get custom made musicians ear plugs with multiple attenuation filters (eg. 10, 15 and 26db) so you can use them in a variety of situations. They provide better protection than foam and other cheaper plugs and you avoid the occlusion effect.