Don't Want to Lose My Life, My Family.

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself' started by Joel86, Apr 6, 2015.

1. Joel86

Joel86 Member

Tinnitus Since:
      03/2015
      I'm a new sufferer with tinnitus. I've only had it for a week. Started in my right ear and turned into a high pitch squeal. Now it is also in my left. I got it after I woke up in the middle of the night with ear pain and reduced hearing in conjunction with a upper respiratory virus. The next day, I saw my GP who put me on prednisone and an antibiotic. It fluctuated throughout the week but seems to not be getting any better.

A week later, I can tell my hearing is off a little bit and I'm not sure if I have hearing loss, but the screaming I have in my ears cause me the greatest distress. I feel as though I will never have a normal life again.

I am a pastor of a church, and my faith in Jesus is as strong as ever. I know God doesn't always release us from suffering, but it is hard for me to accept. I have two small children that I love more than anything. I have a great wife, but she is incredibly irritated with me that I can't snap out of it and be myself. I've always struggled with anxiety and depression, as well as a great deal of hypochondria over the years (eyes, heart, cancer, etc). Over the past week, I've broken down in tears so many times, even writing this, thinking it's going to be like this forever and I'll never have peace to work, play, or enjoy all the things I use to. I ca Would love some encouragement, or just someone to talk to who can relate.

Thanks.

• Hug Hug x 1
    2. attheedgeofscience
      No Mood

attheedgeofscience Member Podcast Patron Mighty Benefactor Hall of Fame

Tinnitus Since:
      Resolved since 2016
      Cause of Tinnitus:
      Unknown (medication, head injury)
      That's the right approach during the very early stage. Still... you need a proper assessment (e.g. hearing test) and that can usually only be conducted via an ENT...